Award Winning Australian Writing 2016

Author(s): Chloe Brien

Short Stories

The ninth edition of Award Winning Australian Writing (AWAW) continues its commitment to showcasing the best short stories and poems that have won competitions around the country. The collection features over fifty writers and competitions, and includes a foreword by Sam Cooney, writer, editor, lecturer, tutor and publisher of The Lifted Brow. Many prominent emerging writers are featured in this year's anthology, including David Campbell, Jacqui Merckenschlager, and Jessica Yu, who appeared as a panellist at this year's Emerging Writers' Festival. As always, the anthology features extensive national representation, with awards from every state and territory in Australia. Competitions appearing in AWAW 2016 include: * Lord Mayor's Creative Writing Awards * Overland Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize * Overland Story Wine Prize * Forty South Tasmanian Writers' Prize * Bruce Dawe Poetry Prize * Katharine Susannah Prichard Poetry Award * Fellowship of Australian Writers Award Past editions of AWAW received support from Lisa Dempster (Melbourne Writers Festival director), Philip Rainford (Fellowship of Australian Writers president), and authors Arnold Zable, Delia Falconer and Mark Tredinnick - all who have written forewords for editions of the book...a must read. Irma Gold, Overland AWAW offers the literary community an invaluable service. Matthew Lamb, The Australian ...impressive new and inventiveness. Patrick Allington, The Advertiser AWAW gives readers a chance to value these winners. Lorien Kaye,The Age


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781922129994
  • : Melbourne Books
  • : Melbourne Books
  • : September 2016
  • : 210mm X 139mm
  • : Australia
  • : September 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Chloe Brien
  • : Paperback
  • : 336