The Doctor of Thessaly

Author(s): Anne Zouroudi

General

Hermes Diaktoros - part Poirot, part Precious Ramotswe, but with a mediterranean mystique (and rotundity) all of his own - returns in a story of envy and betrayal set on the beautiful Greek coastline.

$22.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

With a strong and intriguing central character, Hermes Diaktoros the Greek Detective, these mysteries are set to capture a new legion of fans of cosy crime For fans of Agatha Christie, Alexander McCall Smith and Andrea Camilleri - and for anyone who loves the Greek islands The Messenger of Athens was WHSmith's Travel Read of the Week, longlisted for the Desmond Elliot prize and shortlisted for the ITV3 Crime Thriller Award for Breakthrough Authors

PRAISE FOR THE TAINT OF MIDAS: 'More transported Agatha Christie here, this time to a Greek island setting with modern land-grabbing by unscrupulous developers ... It's good news for readers that there are five more sins to go, because Diaktoros is a delight. Half Poirot, half deus ex machina ... a cracking plot, colourful local characters and descriptions of the hot, dry countryside so strong that you can almost see the heat haze and hear the cicadas - the perfect read to curl up with as the nights draw in' Guardian PRAISE FOR THE MESSENGER OF ATHENS: 'This powerfully atmospheric mystery embraces Mediterranean passion, mythic meddling and patriarchal persecution. First-time novelist Anne Zouroudi proves a natural at the dark arts of writing Euro-crime' Independent 'This is a fantastic tale of passion, corruption and murder on a remote Greek island' Woman's Own 'Absorbing and beautifully written and reveals the savage, superstitious reality behind the pretty facade that is all that most of us know of any Greek island' Literary Review

Anne Zouroudi was born in England and has lived in the Greek islands. Her attachment to Greece remains strong, and the country is the inspiration for much of her writing. She now lives in the Derbyshire Peak District with her son.

General Fields

  • : 9781408801093
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : May 2010
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 16mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Anne Zouroudi
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 823.92
  • : 237
  • : map