A History of the English-Speaking Peoples: The Birth of Britain: Volume I

Author(s): Sir Winston S. Churchill


This history will endure; not only because Sir Winston has written it, but also because of its own inherent virtues - its narrative power, its fine judgment of war and politics, of soldiers and statesmen, and even more because it reflects a tradition of what Englishmen in the hey-day of their empire thought and felt about their country's past. The Daily Telegraph
Spanning four volumes and many centuries of history, from Caesar's invasion of Britain to the start of World War I, A History of the English-Speaking Peoples stands as one of Winston S. Churchill's most magnificent literary works. Begun during Churchill's 'wilderness years' when he was out of government, first published in 1956 after his leadership through the darkest days of World War II had cemented his place in history and completed when Churchill was in his 80s, it remains to this day a compelling and vivid history.
The first volume - The Birth of Britain - tells the story of the formation of the British state, from the arrival of Julius Caesar and the Roman Empire through the invasions of the Vikings and the Normans, the signing of the Magna Carta and establishment of the mother of parliaments to the War of the Roses.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

In the first volume of his majestic history of the English-speaking peoples, Sir Winston S. Churchill chronicles the birth of Britain from the earliest inhabitants of the British Isles to the Battle of Bosworth.

Sir Winston S. Churchill (1874-1965) was Prime Minister of the United Kingdom on two occasions, from 1940-1945 and again from 1951 to 1955. Celebrated as one of the greatest leaders of the twentieth century, he was also a gifted orator, statesman and historian. The author of more than 40 books, he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1953 and in 1963 was made an honorary citizen of the United States.

Preface Maps and Genealogical Tables Book I: The Island Race 1. Britannia 2. Subjugation 3. The Roman Province 4. The Lost Island 5. England 6. The Vikings 7. Alfred the Great 8. The Saxon Dusk Book II: The Making of the Nation 1. The Norman Invasion 2. William the Conqueror 3. Growth and Turmoil 4. Henry Plantagenet 5. The English Common Law 6. Coeur de Lion 7. Magna Carta 8. On the Anvil 9. The Mother of Parliaments 10. King Edward I 11. Bannockburn 12. Scotland and Ireland 13. The Long-Bow 14. The Black Death Book III: The End of the Feudal Age 1. King Richard II and the Social Revolt 2. The Usurpation of Henry Bolingbroke 3. The Empire of Henry V 4. Joan of Arc 5. York and Lancaster 6. The Wars of the Roses 7. The Adventures of Edward IV 8. Richard III Index

General Fields

  • : 9781472585240
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Academic
  • : 0.588
  • : March 2015
  • : 234mm X 156mm X 23mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Sir Winston S. Churchill
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 941
  • : 480